- What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
- How do you place pool balls in a triangle?
- What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
- What happens if the cue ball goes in?
- What happens if you sink the white ball in pool?
- When you scratch in Pool Can you put the ball anywhere?
- Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?
- Where should pool balls be placed?
- What are the official rules of pool?
- Can you move the ball in pool?
- Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
- When can you move the white ball in pool?
- How do you set up pool balls in a triangle?
- Is a table scratch on the 8 ball a loss?
- Can you move the cue ball away from the wall?
What happens if you don’t hit a ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.
If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table..
How do you place pool balls in a triangle?
Roll the balls in the triangle towards the dot to position them and make sure the Yellow ball is over the dot on the table. Making sure the balls are tightly packed together lift the triangle off and break off.
What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game. … Even if the black ball was the only one left if the white ball goes down, you lose.
What happens if the cue ball goes in?
If a ball goes into a pocket and bounces back on to the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not a win. If it is the cue ball, it is not a scratch.
What happens if you sink the white ball in pool?
What happens when you sink the white ball in pool? This is called a “scratch” and is a foul in most cases, earning your opponent a ball-in-hand. On one hand, under special circumstances nothing will happen, on the other hand, you may completely forfeit the game.
When you scratch in Pool Can you put the ball anywhere?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
Where do you place the cue ball after a foul?
I. In the event of a foul call, the opposing player receives cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. This means that the player can place the cue ball anywhere on the table (the cue ball does not have to be behind the headstring except on opening break or immediately after a foul on the break).
Where should pool balls be placed?
The first ball must be placed at the apex position (front of the rack and so the center of that ball is directly over the table’s foot spot ). The two corner balls must be a stripe and a solid. All balls other than the 8 ball are placed at random, but in conformance with the preceding corner ball rule.
What are the official rules of pool?
The first player to pot an object ball will then have to continue to pot the balls from that category (stripes or solids). The opposition player will have to pot the other group. A player will continue to make shots until they foul, or fail to pot an object ball. Then it is the turn of the opposing player.
Can you move the ball in pool?
3.31 BALLS MOVING SPONTANEOUSLY If an object ball drops into a pocket “by itself” as a player shoots at it, so that the cue ball passes over the spot the ball had been on, unable to hit it, the cue ball and object ball are to be replaced to their positions prior to the stroke, and the player may shoot again.
Can you move the cue ball after a foul?
PENALTY FOLLOWING ANY FOUL If the cue ball has come to rest on the playing surface, then the player having two visits may proceed to play from where the cue ball lies, or the cue ball may be played from any position on or behind the baulk line. Moving the cue ball in this manner does not count as a shot, or visit.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
Answer has 12 votes. “Scratching”? means that you either hit the cue ball into a pocket, your opponent’s ball into a pocket, or you didn’t hit any balls at all. When you scratch, you automatically lose your turn.
When can you move the white ball in pool?
Only under certain circumstances can you pick up and move the cue ball mid-game while playing pool: If you are the one breaking at the beginning of the game, you can pick up the cue (white) ball and place it anywhere inside the “kitchen” (pictured below) prior to your break shot.
How do you set up pool balls in a triangle?
In ten ball, you rack the balls in a triangle shape and place the one ball at the apex of the rack on the foot spot. The ten ball is placed in the middle of the triangle. The other balls are placed randomly within the triangle.
Is a table scratch on the 8 ball a loss?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Can you move the cue ball away from the wall?
2 Answers. If the cue ball is shot and is resting on the rail, it is considered not in play. … If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table it is a foul and the non-breaking >player has cue ball in hand behind the head string (from the “kitchen.”)