- What are the odds of making the 8 ball on the break?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Is 8 ball or 9 ball harder?
- Where is the best place to break in pool?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
- What happens if you make a ball on the break?
- Is it possible to sink every ball on the break?
- Can I hit my opponents ball first in Pool?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
- What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
- Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
What are the odds of making the 8 ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs.
0.8% for a 1st-ball break).
If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break..
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
Is 8 ball or 9 ball harder?
Since 9-Ball is more of a shooter’s game and 8-Ball more of a thinker’s game, 8-Ball is harder to master. … Nine Ball is less forgiving and demands more shot-making skills. At the pro level, the shot-maker generally wins more at 9-Ball, while the thinker wins more at 8-Ball.
Where is the best place to break in pool?
As shown below, a good power option for the 8-ball break is to position the CB slightly off center, and hit the lead ball squarely. As with the 10-ball break, the 2nd-row balls tend to head toward the side pockets, and the corner balls can go four rails to the corners.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Do you lose if you sink the white ball on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
What happens if you make a ball on the break?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Is it possible to sink every ball on the break?
There was a study done many years ago of 10,000 breaks by a conditioned environment in the game of nine-ball. And a ball went in on the break about once every three racks. So, Rossman says sinking even one ball isn’t a sure thing—even for the pros. If you’ve racked up some science questions, call us at 1-800-WHY-ISIT.
Can I hit my opponents ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it’s a fault (SCRATCH). You don’t have the right to put the white ball into a hole.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you scratch after the 8 ball goes in?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball. 20.
Do you get 2 shots on the 8 ball?
8 ball-pool Rules A minimum of four balls must hit a cushion otherwise it is a foul break. … The eight-ball must be the last ball potted to win the game. 5. In the event of a foul, the opposing player receives two shots and these shots carry (i.e. if a ball is potted on the first shot, the player still has two shots).
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.