- Where do you hit the white ball in snooker?
- What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- Can you hit the white ball backwards in pool?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- What happens if the cue ball goes in?
- What happens if a snooker is impossible to escape from?
- Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
- What happens if the white ball doesn’t hit anything?
- What happens if the white ball goes in snooker?
- Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
- What happens if a pool ball leaves the table?
- Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
- Where do you look when striking the cue ball?
- Can you snooker behind a free ball?
- How do you hit a snooker ball straight?
- What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Where do you hit the white ball in snooker?
Achieved by striking left or right of the centre of the cue-ball, this form of spin affects how the white ball travels towards the object ball.
If the left hand side is struck, the white will move right of centre – and vice versa.
Once perfected, this skill can even be used to swerve out of a snooker!.
What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
The player loses their turn and the opposing player is awarded an extra shot. If a player shoots and the white cue ball FIRST comes into contact with the black ball, a foul is committed, unless the black ball is the shooter’s last remaining ball on the table.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
Can you hit the white ball backwards in pool?
But of all the rules, one of the most protested is when your opponents sinks the white ball while making a shot – can you shoot the repositioned white ball on the “D” backwards. Well yes you can!
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
What happens if the cue ball goes in?
If a ball goes into a pocket and bounces back on to the playing surface, it is not considered pocketed. If it is the 8-ball, it is not a win. If it is the cue ball, it is not a scratch.
What happens if a snooker is impossible to escape from?
It is Section 3., Rule 14., (a) (iii) if you care to look it up but in essence it says that if the situation is such that an escape is literally impossible, then Foul and a Miss shall NOT be called provided that the White is played with sufficient strength toward the ball on to reach it if not for the obstruction.
Is it a scratch if you hit no balls?
So, if the player strikes the cue ball, which strikes an object ball, the object ball must either travel to a cushion or a pocket in order to be a legal shot. If the object ball does neither, it’s considered a table scratch.
What happens if the white ball doesn’t hit anything?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
What happens if the white ball goes in snooker?
If a hit is a foul then the other player gets penalty points: 4 points if the white ball is potted. 4 points if time limit is exceeded (60 seconds/shot) If the white hits the wrong ball first then the value of this ball.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
What happens if a pool ball leaves the table?
In all pocket billiard games, when a stroke results in the cue ball or any object ball being a jumped ball off the table, the stroke is a foul.
Where does the white ball go after a scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Where do you look when striking the cue ball?
A question I am asked many times is what ball do you look at when you strike the white. The answer is always the object ball. This is always for every player. You do not look at the white or the end of your tip, just the cue ball.
Can you snooker behind a free ball?
Re: Free Ball you can not roll behind a free ball for a snooker because as soon as that colour ball becomes a free ball it becomes the object ball ie red yellow etc etc so you cant snooker on a red behind a effective red the free ball.
How do you hit a snooker ball straight?
The key element in ‘striking the ball’ is to push the cue through in a straight line each time. This can be practiced by placing the white and blue in line with the centre pockets and then by potting the blue. Each time you pot the blue your cue action should be over the very centre of one of the middle pockets.
What happens if you sink your opponent’s ball in pool?
Did you accidentally make one of your opponent’s balls in and you’re wondering what happens next? The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.